Palouse Falls

Can you believe it took me some 40 years past when I learned the existence of this place to finally visit it? Yup. And i lived within 2 hours of it while I lived in Moscow, ID in the 80s. Go figure.

I finally made it. And it did not disappoint.

This is not the typical head on view that most people know, but I think it shows the falls very well in situ.

Steve and I had a perfectly wonderful day to visit. We’d gone to the Asparagus Festival in Pasco, WA on Saturday. It was fine. Food was not as good as I hoped for. There were a few asparagus dishes, but what I think would be the bomb would be food trucks featuring asparagus. Yes, there were a few, but not compelling. Another idea is an asparagus cooking contest. What can you do with asparagus? You know, like a chili cook-off. But yeah, it was fine and we are glad we went. We stayed the night in Kennewick, went for a walk across on the fishing island, and went to lunch at Graze. Golly gee, their chickpea salad sandwich is fabulous. Think of chicken or tuna salad, only use chickpeas. Similar herbs and mayo on whole grain bread with cucumbers and sprouts. YUM!

Then it was off to the falls.

I love this view with the sheer rock face on the left. And how about that trail at the cliff’s feet. Are you gonna hike on that? I’m not gonna hike on that! It is just too bad the ‘castle’ rock feature to the left of the head of the falls was not nicely lit. Darn clouds. I might have been able to fix that. It it was there. It was beautiful.

Had to take a selfie, right?

Steve and Beth at Palouse Falls

See all 6 photos of Palouse falls in the SmugMug gallery: https://bethgoodnight.smugmug.com/Travels/Palouse-Falls

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.